April 23, 2006

A bit of fun for Sunday

Posted in Memes, Music, Personal, Poetry at 7:36 pm by The Lizard Queen

First, a meme that all of you have no doubt seen floating around: set your digital music player to play ten songs at random from your entire collection. Report what gets played, no matter how shameful the results.

My problem is not shame; my problem is that were I to actually listen to this mix, I think my brain might explode:

1. Led Zeppelin – “All of My Love”
2. The Shins – “New Slang” (from the Garden State soundtrack)
3. The Push Stars – “Drifting Away”
4. Ani DiFranco – “Gravel”
5. Concerto in F: Preludio (Adagio); Composer: Corelli/Barbirolli, Soloist: Gheorghe Zamfir
6. The Brian Setzer Orchestra – “Straight Up”
7. Michael Nyman – “The Wounded” (from The Piano soundtrack)
8. Enya – “Pax Deorum”
9. Jesse Cook – “Tempest”
10. Cello Concerto, opus 129: 2. Langsam; Composer: Robert Schumann, Soloist: Mstislav Rostropovich

We have eclectic tastes in music ’round here… 🙂

And here’s another poem for Poetry Month. This one is one of my favorites.

This Is Just to Say
by William Carlos Williams

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

4 Comments »

  1. chaddq said,

    All right, I’ll post my 10; I’m certain that I’ll be shame-faced. I hope to god Vanessa Carlton stays hidden in the dark corners of my mac.

    On another note, my favorite poetry rejection letter was from the Iowa Review – it was modeled after the WCW poem you posted. Something like, ‘This is just to say we read the poem you submitted . . .’

  2. That’s very similar to the variety I get on my random 10s. And that’s one of my favorite poems ever.

  3. luaphacim said,

    I do love me some WCW every now and again.

    But really, what does depend
    upon
    a red wheel
    barrow
    glazed with rain
    water
    beside the white
    chickens?

  4. Oh, come on, luphacim, are you deliberately throwing me a softball? SO MUCH depends on that red wheelbarrow! Where would we be without it? I mean, really…

    Yay WCW, yay eclectic music collections, yay Macs, yay comments. 🙂


Leave a Reply

