May 24, 2006

Poetry to get us over the Wednesday hump

Posted in Poetry at 1:30 pm by The Lizard Queen

I saw a few things in today’s online roamings that I consider worth blogging about, but to be perfectly honest, I’m not really in the mood, and I figure that if Evil Bender can post a poem when he’s in a dark mood, then I should be able to as well.

Okay, okay, just one quick link that I find darkly humorous: apparently the world may well end tomorrow. Also, I still have that bridge for sale… 😉

Anyway, here’s the poem:

Parked Car
by Jim Daniels

Fred and I, drunk and stoned,
drove around laughing like we did
in the old days before I met Karen.
Then I said drive by Karen’s
and he said are you sure?
Then he said okay like he was tired
and didn’t want to end up
bailing me out again.
She’d given my ring back a month ago.
I knew she had a date.

A car was parked
where I always parked.
Fred pulled in on the other side of the street.
We sat there. There’s no one in the car
Fred said. No lights in the house.
I squinted hard through the dark,
saw a head pop up above the seat
then down again. I reached for the door.
There’s no one in the car
we’re leaving now, Fred said.
He put his hand on my shoulder
gentle, firm.

….

I turned to stone then crumbled
wanting her and not wanting her
while Fred drove me home.
I held my open hand out the window
against the cold wind.

25 years ago.
Today in a moment rain
changes to snow.
Maybe it was Fred I loved that night.

We’d have never called it that.
And I still wouldn’t to his face—
that small touch
during the years none of us
ever touched each other.

Sometimes I still drive by that spot
with my wife who doesn’t know the ghosts
living there. We don’t kiss in cars anymore.
Karen married, moved away.

Ah, heart. Hearts.
Mine and yours. Yeah, all of you.
The times we’ve given it away
for chump change.
The heart, the fist. If you’re lucky
someone grabs your shoulder.

1 Comment »

  1. Evil Bender said,

    I sooooo love that poem.


Leave a Reply

