June 19, 2006

Meme Monday, part two: the good

Posted in Memes, Music, Personal at 5:14 pm by The Lizard Queen

First, the usual ten-song meme, which I’m sure I don’t need to repost the rules for at this point. Set your mp3 player on shuffle, blah di blah di blah. Lately Christie Keith has been including commentary in hers, so I thought I’d try that out…

1. Natural Blues – Moby
A nice up-tempo piece from his 1999 album Play, which I think might be my favorite…

2. It’s Not Unusual (Live) – Five Iron Frenzy
I heard this on the radio and then downloaded it as soon as I got home. Tweak Tom Jones’s version just a bit and it becomes ska, and much improved (in my opinion) at that–or at least more entertaining for me. πŸ˜‰

3. Feeling This – Blink 182
I love this song, and am fond of Blink 182 in general (quiet, you). I particularly like the moment at which Tom shouts the lyrics of the chorus from a point several feet (at least, I’m guessing) away from the microphone–dunno why, maybe because it’s just kind of silly and fun.

4. Fun Fun Fun – The Beach Boys
What can I say about The Beach Boys? I won’t generally go out of my way to listen to them, but neither will I go out of my way to avoid them, and there’s something to be said for music this… cheerful…

5. The Christians and the Pagans (Live) – Dar Williams
I adore Dar, and this song promotes religious tolerance. Woot! πŸ™‚

6. I’m Not Worried At All – Moby
Mellow Moby for my Monday meme. Good stuff.

7. You Spin Me – Dead or Alive
Awesome dance song.

8. La Wally – Sarah Brightman
Yeep, abrupt downshift! This is from her album Classics, which is gorgeous. I definitely like her neo-classical stuff better than some of her other stuff, which at Borders we called Pop Vocal… If anyone doesn’t know who Sarah Brightman is, she originated the role of Christine in Phantom of the Opera.

9. The Babysitter’s Here – Dar Williams
Peace, man, cool, yeah.

10. Giuliano’s Tune, Something, Eleanor Day’s #2 – The Duhks
Discovered the Duhks when we went to see BΓ©la Fleck and the Flecktones nearly two years ago now–the sound tech was using the Duhks’ CD for house music, and I sought him out before the concert started to find out what was playing. Celtic-y Canadians, which anyone who talks to me about my favorite band will discover I have a weakness for. πŸ˜€

Next, a meme I’m stealing from PoMo Golightly: please leave a one-word comment that you think best describes me β€” it can only be one word long. Then copy and paste this into your blog so that I may leave a word about you.

There. Now I’m done with memes for a while. Do with those what you will. πŸ™‚

3 Comments »

  1. Caracierge said,

    bright

  2. Alix said,

    compassionate

  3. sarbear711 said,

    I think that Blink 182 is the hottiest band and all the guy are cute next to Vin Diesel he his cute and he has a sexy body


Leave a Reply

