September 28, 2006

Book meme 1

Posted in Literature, Memes, Personal at 7:37 pm by The Lizard Queen

I was tagged by Evil Bender… I’m not all that into the whole tagging thing; I would love to see the answers of anyone who’s interested.

A book that changed my life: The Fifth Life of the Catwoman (Kathleen Dexter) was the book that made me decide for certain that I would apply to grad school.

A book I’ve read more than once: Ditto what Evil Bender said: Lots of books. I’m currently rereading Bill Bryson’s travel books in my free time (which pretty much means when I’m in the bathroom).

A book I would take with me if I were stuck on a desert island: Echoing EB again: I’d like to have a nice, annotated edition of James Joyce’s Ulysses. That ought to keep me occupied for a good long while…

A book that made me laugh: I just re-read Bill Bryson’s I’m A Stranger Here Myself. I first read it while working at Borders, and I would sit in the cafe and read it on my breaks, and people would stare at me because I was laughing so hard.

A book that made me cry: It’s interesting: movies make me cry relatively often; books much less frequently. Still, there were two that got me over the summer: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (I knew someone was going to die, and I even had suspicions that were ultimately confirmed as to who it was, but I was still devastated) and The Sandman trade #9, The Kindly Ones (which caught me entirely off guard–they’re the Endless, fer crissakes!).

A book that I wish had been written: This is a bit of an odd question, since if it doesn’t exist, how would I know I want it to be written? I can think of several books I’d like to be published, though: An Atlas of Desire, What the Dead Want, Gifts from (er, for?) the Dying, etc….

A book that I wish had never been written: Hmm… generally I wouldn’t wish for books to be unwritten, but if James Ellroy hadn’t written The Black Dahlia, then Hollywood wouldn’t have made a movie out of it, and thus I wouldn’t have lost my will to live after seeing said movie (so, so terrible!) nearly two weeks ago…

A book I’ve been meaning to read: Heh–there are so many… James Baldwin’s Giovanni’s Room is one.

I’m currently reading: Samuel Beckett, Malone Dies; Robert Coover, A Night at the Movies

1 Comment »

  1. Cara M. said,

    I applaud you- I absolutely cannot read Samuel Beckett.

    A book that changed my life: It seems strange that I can’t think of one, but I’m really having trouble with this. Every book- even the bad ones or fluffy ones- adds a little bit to who you are, what you’ve felt, what you know, what you think… so in that way, they all change your life.

    A book I’ve read more than once: The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara and To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I’m sure I’ll read them again, too.

    A book I would take with me if I were stuck on a desert island: Probably Shakespeare’s collected works, or the Bible. There’s a lot in both of them to think about.

    A book that made me laugh: Books make me laugh all the time, but The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy was quite funny through and through.

    A book that made me cry: Quite a long list this would be! The book that probably made me cry the most was Where the Red Fern Grows

    A book that I wish had been written: Any book with something to say, I suppose. I’m trying to think of someone tragically misunderstood whose side of the story I’d like to have heard… maybe I’ll come up with one some day.

    A book that I wish had never been written: Any book preaching hate. I’ve never read any specifically, so I can’t name names, but I know they’re out there.

    A book I’ve been meaning to read: The list is so very long. Right now I think the top of the list is The Time Traveler’s Wife since so many different people, most of whom don’t know each other, have told me how great it is.

    A book I’m currently reading: The Crimson Petal and the White– it’s entertaining. I’m also always reading magazines.

    Category I’d like to add: A book that’s terribly over-hyped: There are tons of them, but my vote at this time is for A Confederacy of Dunces by the guy who killed himself (Toole or something like that… I could look it up but eh, I’m lazy.)


Leave a Reply

