March 2, 2007

Where is the right-wing outrage?

Posted in Language, Wingnuts at 11:24 pm by The Lizard Queen

“I was going to have a few comments on the other Democratic presidential candidate, John Edwards, but it turns out that you have to go into rehab if you use the word ‘faggot,’ so I—so kind of an impasse, can’t really talk about Edwards.” — Ann Coulter, at the at the Conservative Political Action Conference today.

How is it that Shakespeare’s Sister is a “vulgar, trash-talking bigot,” but Ann Coulter can say any number of bigoted things, and no one on the right wing seems to care? The fact that it appears we lefties swear a lot doesn’t quite seem to compare to trying to disparage a presidential candidate by mentioning an epithet that doesn’t actually apply to him, but instead might suggest what Coulter thinks about his masculinity. I would love to see conservatives try to distance themselves from her, to condemn what she’s said… but I’m not going to hold my breath, particularly given the fact that the statement received laughter and applause (along with “ooh”s of, I presume, disbelief or something like it).

5 Comments »

  1. Pat said,

    Ann Coulter was way out of line. If I were to make a prediction, this is the straw that broke the camel’s back for the fence sitters, but of course, only time will tell. In the meantime, I’ll just hope.

  2. luaphacim said,

    I agree with Pat about the “way out of line part,” but something tells me that anyone who was a genuine Ann Coulter fan before this homophobic ad hominem attack will probably be able to remain so afterwards.

  3. DavidD said,

    I went to Michelle Malkin’s blog. At 4:15 pm Friday, she related Coulter’s remarks as provoking a smattering of laughter, but “not from this corner”. She linked back to what she wrote last year when Coulter used the term “raghead” at the same conference. Malkin disapproved, comparing the term to “sambo” and “gook”. I don’t suppose Ann Coulter cares about such disapproval.

    I notice some Democratic blogs report the laughter as being to the rafters. At least people can agree on the quote.

    I didn’t have to follow links very far to find Coulter being defended with the, “They’re worse than we are,” defense, similar to the defense for torture at Abu Ghraib and many things political. I suppose someone’s always worse than someone else at some moment in time. Maybe that’s one reason it’s popular as a defense – there’s usually a little truth in it, if you set up the comparison right. Maybe that’s the best defense people have sometimes short of saying, “Yes, I was wrong”. You’d think everyone would see the contradiction in that, that if it’s wrong for me to murder someone, I’m still wrong if someone else murders 10. But no, instead if someone from my party is caught taking a bribe, I’m liable to point how much more someone in the other party was bribed. And if I’ve received the biggest bribe in US history, as Duke Cunningham apparently did, I can blame the Pulitzer-prize winning newspaper that reported it for ruining my life, which Congressman Cunningham did. The San Diego Union-Tribune published that, too. Sometimes people really should just shut up.

    But it’s only criminal acts where anyone can say that yes, even though that other person did something 10 times worse, you’re going to the same prison.

    For non-criminal immorality, people will continue to deny the immorality by saying, “You guys did it worse than I did.” So then either no one is immoral or both sides are immoral or someone is lying through her teeth. Pick one.

  4. DavidD said,

    The Moderate Voice http://themoderatevoice.com/politics/the-shame-of-ann-coulter/#more-11255
    reproduced an extensive cross-section of bipartisan criticism of Ms. Coulter. It also declared it would be an Ann Coulter free zone from here on out. I suppose that’s not written in stone in case Ms. Coulter does something even more irresistably outrageous. For some people, bad press is better than no press at all.

  5. Dave said,

    It seems that using epithet’s that don’t really apply has become the mainstay of the conservative political strategy recently (ie calling the other side terrorists, flip-floppers, cut-and-runners). Ann Coulter really tops the cake though, not that this is very surprising. I’m just happy that I no longer have to see her face on every best sellers list I look at. Edward’s doesn’t need to worry though, he can just counter her accusations with an “I know you are but what am I?” Give her a logical argument that she can follow.


Leave a Reply

