March 28, 2007

Toby the wonder dog!

Posted in Animals at 4:15 pm by The Lizard Queen

This is so cool:

Parkhurst said she was home alone with the dogs Friday afternoon when she decided to snack on an apple.

Suddenly, she said, a chunk of the fruit became wedged in her windpipe.

“It was lodged pretty tight because I couldn’t breathe,” she said. “I tried to do the thing where you lean over a chair and give yourself the Heimlich, but it didn’t work.”

Parkhurst said she then began beating her chest, an action that might have attracted Toby’s attention.

“The next think I know, Toby’s up on his hind feet and he’s got his front paws on my shoulders,” she recalled. “He pushed me to the ground, and once I was on my back, he began jumping up and down on my chest.”

Toby’s jumping apparently managed to dislodge the apple from Parkhurst’s windpipe.

“As soon as I started breathing, he stopped and began licking my face, as if to keep me from passing out,” she said.

A friend soon arrived and, after witnessing the canine rescue, drove Parkhurst to the doctor’s office.

“I, literally, have pawprint-shaped bruises on my chest,” Parkhurst said. “I’m still a little hoarse, but otherwise, I’m OK.”

Tiwa isn’t really impressed. “I could do that, mama!” she tells me. Here’s hoping I’ll never have to find out for sure.

[h/t to Shakes]

5 Comments »

  1. Evil Bender said,

    Tiwa certainly has the jumping part down. I just hope she doesn’t approach saving lives the same way she approaches digging holes.

  2. Hey, at least she’s enthusiastic…

  3. beverly said,

    Damn straight Tiwa could do that. She could probably call 911, too!

  4. pavlov112 said,

    My best friend from high school is a Toby. I’m confident HE could save me in that situation. Not so sure about any of my dogs…

  5. Cara said,

    I can see how this would work…. I start to choke and start flitting around and whacking my chest. My dogs, one of whom is actually named Toby, think this is a game, and they get excited and jump on me. I fall down, which is really exciting to them, and they proceed to jump on me more, and voila! puppy Heimlich. As soon as I make noise, Toby begins to lick me excessively, as this is possibly the best game they’ve ever gotten to play.

    I do think dogs are extremely perceptive when things are wrong with their owners though 🙂


Leave a Reply

