April 21, 2007

It would appear that I’m “it”…

Posted in Blogging, Personal at 10:51 am by The Lizard Queen

That is to say, I’ve been tagged–Evil Bender wants me to explain why I blog. It’s fairly simple, really.

I blog because I have something to say. I haven’t always been able to speak up for myself or for others, and even when I do it hasn’t always been easy to get people to listen to me. Furthermore, I often blog about things that make me angry, which is an emotion I’ve struggled with for much of my life because “nice girls” aren’t supposed to get angry. (Of course, I’m pretty much done caring whether or not anyone sees me as a “nice girl”–in fact, by and large I’d rather people didn’t see me as a nice girl.) So, blogging allows me to say what I want to say, when and how I want to say it, so I can get it off my chest and it can reach an interested audience.

However, while I want my voice to be heard, I don’t really blog for anyone but myself. I sort of stumbled into talking about issues; I’d originally started up my Blogspot blog just as a place to link to the blogs I read. My first substantive post dealt with an issue I’m passionate about (birth control), so much so that I simply had to say something about it. I didn’t really care if anyone was reading; I just needed to say what I said. Similarly, earlier this month–roughly around the end of the first week of April–I started to think about quitting the endeavor of posting a poem a day for National Poetry Month. I was getting few comments, if any, and started to think, well, if no one else cares, then why should I even bother? I sulked for a moment, then thought, fuck that–I’m enjoying posting the poems, and that’s all that really matters.

All that said, I do have dreams of glory. I would love to have the kind of devoted readership Melissa McEwan has built up. I’m told, however, that my tone is too moderate to really attract attention, but that’s not really going to change because this is who I am. So, I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

I’m going to close with an Ani DiFranco lyric that I find fairly apropos…

i’m no heroine
least not last time i checked
i’m too easy to roll over
i’m too easy to wreck
i just write about what i
should have done
i sing what i wish i could say
and i hope somewhere
some woman hears my music
and it helps her through her day

Oh, and the tagging. Hmph. EB tagged two of the people I’m interested in hearing from already (Luaphacim and Sera), and Radical Vixen explained why she blogs recently in her anniversary post (parts of the site–perhaps all of it depending on your workplace–are NSFW). Many of the other lovelies on my friends blogroll don’t update enough for “why do you blog” to be a logical question, but if anyone I don’t tag wants to tackle the question, I’d love to read your answer. PoMoGo, you wanna weigh in?

Also, I would love to hear from Pam of Pam’s House Blend, Marc and Kyso of PunkAssBlog.com, and any or all of the women who write for Feministing, but I know full well what the odds are that any of them read this blog. 🙂 Ah well. Maybe someday…

2 Comments »

  1. luaphacim said,

    For what it’s worth, I’m pretty sure I’ve enjoyed every poem I’ve ever seen posted here. I like your style, kid. 🙂

  2. Mishka P said,

    i agree even if i am several days late….


Leave a Reply

