May 18, 2007

Bill Richardson in 2008?

Posted in Politics at 6:06 pm by The Lizard Queen

My only complaint about Richardson is that I wish he were more progressive in the area of GLBT rights. However, I think he’s probably by far the most qualified candidate out there:

Also, that doleful look he gives to the camera about halfway through is priceless.

Furthermore, he spoke yesterday regarding his climate and energy plan. Here’s Gristmill’s take:

As of today, Bill Richardson has become the boldest, most visionary Democratic presidential candidate on climate and energy policy. (John Edwards is a close second.) No politician from either party has put forward a plan that comes closer to being a realistic response to the energy shortages and climate chaos heading our way.

Considering the fact that there are plenty of people out there who aren’t sure New Mexico is a state (here’s one of a number of examples I could cite: my mom was wiring me money once and was asked, “So, this is going to be an international wire transfer?”), I’m hesitant to speculate about Richardson’s chances. At any rate, 2008 (not to mention the rest of this year) should be interesting.

3 Comments »

  1. Andre Pineda said,

    Thanks for the kind words about Governor Richardson! I hope if you don’t mind that I share an excerpt from this article about his record on GLBT issues:

    The governor appears to be gearing up to make his support for LGBT rights more widely known on the presidential campaign trail. Though he didn’t mention it on the stump in Concord, at the Democratic National Committee’s annual winter meeting earlier this month Richardson was the only speaker on the roster — which included other presidential contenders Sen. Joe Biden, Clinton, Sen. Christopher Dodd, Edwards, Rep. Dennis Kucinich, Obama, and Iowa Gov. Tom Vilsack — to raise the issue. “I want to tell you, too, in New Mexico, our fight for equality extends to sexual orientation,” he told attendees, touting the state’s LGBT-inclusive civil rights laws and its domestic partner benefits for state workers. “Some call New Mexico the land of enchantment. I now like to think that we live in a state of enlightenment.” On top of that, he’s scheduled to deliver the keynote address at a Human Rights Campaign dinner in Los Angeles on March 24.

    He certainly has a few things to talk about. In 2003, Richardson followed through on campaign pledges to sign into law LGBT-inclusive hate crimes and non-discrimination bills, making New Mexico one of just a handful of states to include transgender people in state’s civil rights laws. Not only did he sign the legislation, said Blizman, “he actively helped work the legislators to make sure it passed.” Richardson also issued a 2003 executive order providing domestic partner benefits to gay state employees. In 2005 he came out in opposition to proposed state DOMA legislation, unless it contained a civil unions or domestic partnership provision (the bill eventually died); he has also spoken out against a federal anti-gay marriage amendment. Blizman, who is supporting Richardson in his quest for the White House, says that Richardson is behind Equality New Mexico’s push to pass a comprehensive domestic partnership bill that would provide two “non-familial” adults with all of the state-level rights afforded to married couples.

  2. Well, I do mind, a little, since I’m not particularly keen on making my blog a place for free advertising, but I’ll let it go in hopes that interested parties will find it, and because I already did a bit of free advertising myself just by posting that video.

    Furthermore, as a resident of New Mexico I’m well aware of Richardson’s work on GLBT issues, and I’m grateful for it. However, I stand by what I said before: I wish he were more progressive. From The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life’s list of where the ’08 candidates stand on gay marriage:

    Richardson opposes same-sex marriage, saying in February 2007, “I’m just not there yet. I’m a Catholic. I think marriage is between a man and a woman.” Richardson has said that he would support national legislation for civil unions for gay couples, and he is pushing a more limited domestic partnership bill in New Mexico.

    Don’t get me wrong; hate crime and anti-discrimination legislation is very important as well, but I just think it makes more sense to legalize same-sex marriage than to maintain GLBTs’ second-class status by creating a new legal entity (e.g. civil unions or domestic partnerships) that grants the same rights as or similar rights to marriage — and I wish more candidates agreed with me.

  3. hamilton said,

    thanks for the info, my grandfather was telling me how wonderful this guy is. he does seem progressive, but i found this on wikipedia and it contradicts part of the previous article concerning doma.

    “(Richardson) advocates affirmative action policies in government contracts. While he voted in favor of the Defense of Marriage Act in 1996, he has since supported LGBT rights in his career as governor; he added sexual orientation and gender identity to New Mexico’s list of civil rights categories, and opposes the ‘don’t ask, don’t tell’ policy.”

    i agree with you lizardqueen it does make sense to legalize same-sex marriage and this guy probably won’t be so directly effective, but if he keeps fighting for equal rights the recipients of those rights will create change.

    be the change you want to see in the world.

    hamilton


Leave a Reply

