June 15, 2007

A meme reinforces my distaste for mainstream pop radio

Posted in Memes, Music at 10:05 pm by The Lizard Queen

[Is “mainstream pop” redundant?]

Blue Gal picked up the following meme, and curiosity got the best of me. I followed the instructions, found the proper year, and cringed. Over and over and over. So, first, here’s the meme:

The thing:
1. Go to http://www.popculturemadness.com/Music/
2. Down the left column pick the year you turned 18
3. Get yourself nostalgic/enraged over the songs of the year
4. Write something about how the songs affected you
5. Pass it on to 5 more friends

And next, the cringing: the Spice Girls appear on the list for my year no fewer than four times. As much as I appreciate Aqua for their kitsch value, the fact that “Barbie Girl” is #1 totally made me throw up in my mouth a little bit. Hanson’s on there twice, which had me whimpering. And then there’s Celine Dion. Please don’t make me go there.

Then there are the Billboard #1s… here’s a brief rundown:

  • #1 while I was finishing up high school: May 24 – June 13: MMMBop – Hanson (“In an mmmbop they’re gone / in an mmbop they’re not there” — yak)
  • #1 while I was beginning college: June 14 – August 30: I’ll Be Missing You – Puff Daddy/Faith Evans/112 (don’t get me wrong, I miss Biggie too, but as far as tributes go, this one leaves something to be desired)
  • #1 when I turned 18: October 11 – January 16, 1998: Candle In The Wind 1997 – Elton John (Diana’s death was tragic, too, but come on, just reworking the lyrics to an old song? Kinda lame…)

On the other hand, the Mighty Mighty Bosstones are on the list twice, as is Sublime. And there’s Fiona Apple and Sarah McLachlan. Good stuff, even if it is overplayed at this point.

And then, of course, there’s The Freshmen… I was totally the right age (and experienced the right amount of angst) to adore that song. Mmm, nostalgia…

There’s my story. Anyone interested in sharing theirs?

2 Comments »

  1. Blue Gal said,

    That’s. Pretty. Bad.

    But I love MMB and Sarah. yeah. Thanks for the link, too.

  2. Cara said,

    “The Freshmen” fucking kills me. Bleh.

    Except for the incredibly awful “Cotton Eye Joe” being their #1 requested or whatever they call it, my year (1995) really wasn’t all that bad.


Leave a Reply

