August 14, 2007

A reason not to buy Glamour (just in case you needed one)

Posted in Racial issues at 10:29 pm by The Lizard Queen

Simple: racism (via Feministing):

Well, a recent slide show by an unidentified Glamour editor on the “Dos and Don’ts of Corporate Fashion” at a New York law firm shed some light on the topic, according to this month’s American Lawyer magazine.

First slide up: an African American woman sporting an Afro. A real no-no, announced the ‘Glamour’ editor to the 40 or so lawyers in the room. As for dreadlocks: How truly dreadful! The style maven said it was ‘shocking’ that some people still think it ‘appropriate’ to wear those hairstyles at the office. ‘No offense,’ she sniffed, but those ‘political’ hairstyles really have to go.

Lovely. Some of my favorite comments:

  • As I was reading the comments, I thought to myself that my natural hair is political. It is my way of saying that I am tired of chemical burns and paying to much money to some hair salon. I am tired of trying to fit someone else’s beauty standard and I have decided to make my own. Plus, my hair has never been more healthy. (by BGWQLC)
  • Gah. Any style choice a woman makes is generally seen as “a statement” — makeup vs. none, pants vs. skirt, short hair vs. long — but for black women it’s ten times as bad. Why they should be trying to tell us ANYTHING with their hair, other than “I have hair,” I have no idea. (by CUMAEANSIBYL)
  • The way I see it, if my big black afro scares/offends you, just be glad I don’t know where you parked, cause I’d probably crawl into your backseat and wait for you to get in. Then, I’d yell “OOGA BOOGA WHERE DA WHITE WOMEN AT?!” as you climbed into your car.And you’d die of cardiac arrest. No one wants that. Small blessings, hmm? (by RTOTHEISSA)
2 Comments »

  1. I knew there was a reason I went into academia in the Liberal Arts. At least when we get anal over stupid stuff, it never has to do with hair.

  2. gye nyame said,

    Pity, from time to time (in my opinion) they have had some decent stuff in “Glamour”
    well, Even More reasons i should stick to “Flaunt” and “Surface”… oh noes! 😉


Leave a Reply

