August 31, 2007

On the second anniversary of Hurricane Katrina

Posted in Government, News at 2:20 pm by The Lizard Queen

katrinaanniversaryflagfornola.jpg

There really isn’t much I can add to what’s already been said about this anniversary. However, my dear friend Yaxley P. Crankypants, Ph.D., M.A., B.S. (it’s a pen name; you’re shocked, I know) wrote something recently on her MySpace blog that I thought was quite well put, and so I asked for and received permission to repost her words. Here they are, with bold added by me:

Today is the two-year anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, which, among all its other destruction, made rubble of the houses on the street I grew up on, washed away whole sections of my former neighborhood. My childhood home had a couple of exterior walls still standing and most of the interior demolished. Four people died in a house that had once stood about a tenth of a mile from my own house.

So today (on the treadmill at the gym) I said, “Fuck you,” to the digitized representation of President George W. Bush as he chuckled over all the rebuilding and advances that have occurred in New Orleans and on the Mississippi Gulf Coast in the past two years. Seems he and others observed a moment of silence in New Orleans to commemorate the anniversary.

Methinks President Bush has allowed himself to observe too many moments of silence and abject inaction in the face of this ongoing catastrophe. It’s true that Yaxley would still scoff and say fuck you if Bushie yanked off his tie, rolled up his shirt sleeves, and observed a moment of hammer-wielding as he nailed together some two-by-fours in the name of building a new house in the Ninth Ward, say. I can spot a photo op from 1200 miles away. But I’d rather see him do something than more of the nothing he’s been up to these past couple of years (at least as concerns that particular part of the U.S./world).

Heck of a job, Bushie.

Indeed.

(The stunning image at the beginning of the post is from Suspect Device.)

Leave a Reply

