December 18, 2007

Do they really hate us for our freedom…

Posted in Government at 1:29 pm by The Lizard Queen

…or is it maybe, at least in part, because we treat tourists like criminals?

Yesterday Chet Scoville of Shakesville linked to this story, in which an Icelandic woman who had come to New York for a vacation — “to shop and enjoy the Christmas spirit” — was detained by Homeland Security, held for 24 hours, then deported.  Throughout her brief stay she was treated like a dangerous criminal, interrogated, led through the airport with wrists cuffed and legs chained, the whole nine yards.  Her crime?  She’d overstayed her visa by three weeks in 1995.

Here’s an excerpt from her narrative:

I was completely exhausted, tired and cold. Fourteen hours after I had landed I had something to eat and drink for the first time. I was given porridge and bread. But it did not help much. I was afraid and the attitude of all who handled me was abysmal to say the least. They did not speak to me as much as snap at me. Once again I asked to make a telephone call and this time the answer was positive. I was relieved but the relief was short-lived. For the telephone was set up for collect calls only and it was not possible to make overseas calls. The jailguard held my cell phone in his hand. I explained to him that I could not make a call from the jail telephone and asked to be allowed to make one call from my own phone. That was out of the question. I spent the next 9 hours in a small, dirty cell. The only thing in there was a narrow steel board which extended out from the wall, a sink and toilet. I wish I never experience again in my life the feeling of confinement and helplessness which I experienced there.

Go read the whole thing.

1 Comment »

  1. Yawn said,

    Incarceration’s tough. The best way to avoid it is by not committing crimes. I have to question the validity of this statement because detention facilities in the U.S. don’t serve things like “porridge.”

    On the other hand, I’m all for free immigration from Mexico. I think we oughta implement a free-for-all with our vato neighbors, privatize immigration processing, and outsource it to Mexico.

    The federal government is incompetent to the point it lets terrorists pass freely through the system to hijack airplanes and kill people while it arrests hardworking folks crossing the border for seasonal work. Something’s screwed up there.


Leave a Reply

