April 17, 2009

June Jordan: “Poem in Memory of Alan Schindler, 22 Years Old”

Posted in GLBT issues, Poetry at 1:44 pm by The Lizard Queen

[This one’s another re-post; putting it up in honor of the Day of Silence.]

Poem in Memory of Alan Schindler, 22 Years Old

Except for the tattoo
how could I recognize
my son
what with the way that monster
crushed
his skull
what with the way that monster
broke
then pulverized his jaw
what with the way that monster
kicked apart
the rib cage of my only son/
except for the tattoo
how could I recognize
my boy
my manchild grown into a sailor
for the Navy

I have buried him
my son
who lived and died loving
other men
I have buried him now
beneath the earth that allows for no
distinctions among men
except for the tattoo
that personal flag
of an honest body
as courageous
as ordinary
as continuing to breathe
when the world demands your death
as courageous
as ordinary
as an everyday parade
across mined territory
as courageous
as ordinary
as all of that
except
Thank God!
except for the tattoo

—June Jordan, 1997

Leave a Reply

